Anthony Lau - Research Director, TNS Sinotrust

For luxury auto brands, as for almost any other type of car maker, China is starting to resemble a gold rush. Growth of 22% between 2012 and 2013 has ensured that every possible premium brand is not only present in the market, but moving to strengthen that presence – and this despite forebodings around slowing GDP growth and regulations against conspicuous consumption. As this year’s Beijing auto show demonstrated, most are putting their faith in ever-expanding product lines to retain and grow share, and ensure entry points for the next wave of first-time luxury buyers. But in an increasingly crowded market, the time is coming to apply some precision to how they manage their portfolios, and how they manage their brands.

The line-up keeps growing
China’s luxury market is currently dominated by the big three German brands, with Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz commanding a combined share of 75% in 2013. However, the challengers are arriving. Lexus, Land Rover, Volvo and Cadillac have already launched. The revived Red Flag introduced the L5 limousine at the Shanghai Auto Show last year, and Ford is looking to launch the Lincoln brand during 2014.

The variety of luxury models is expanding every bit as rapidly as the variety of brands. Just 20 years ago, the luxury auto market consisted almost entirely of sedan models such as the Mercedes-Benz E-Class and BMW 5 Series. Now BMW boasts a China line up with every Series number from 1 to 7, including the recently launched 2 Series and 4 Series. And that’s before we start on X Series SUVs, Z Series sports cars or electric models from its new i sub-brand. The luxury grid becomes more crowded still when we take the increasing number of localised versions of these marques, sold alongside them in dealerships and offered to buyers as an alternative choice. Localised versions of the Mercedes-Benz GLK, BMW X1, Audi Q3 and Cadillac’s XTS and ATS are already helping their manufacturers to avoid heavy import taxes whilst potentially appealing to more price-sensitive buyers.

A crowded market demands differentiation
This rapid proliferation of luxury brands seems at first glance to be a sign of a market in robust health. But it is in fact creating significant challenges for both car-makers and their customers. We see the impact in the increased consideration process for luxury auto buyers. Customers are taking significantly longer to make decisions because navigating all of the options is becoming intimidatingly complex. Luxury auto dealers meanwhile are struggling to find space in showrooms for all of the models on offer. And these challenges of distribution are only just beginning.

Manufacturers face another challenge that is arguably more significant still. The immense difficulty of differentiating a luxury brand in an increasingly crowded marketplace – especially when Chinese auto buyers’ first experience of their brand involves such a huge variety of models. Traditionally, car manufacturers have always been successful in differentiating themselves from competitors through their products. BMW had their rear-wheel drive sedans; Audi had Quattro technology; Porsche has rear-engine sports cars. However, maintaining differentiation via the product is becoming increasingly challenging as the portfolio of each manufacturer continues to grow.

Western auto brands must also recognize that their brand heritage will not translate automatically into the Chinese market. Ask a Chinese auto buyer about the type of vehicles that they associate with Porsche and they will talk about 4-seater Cayennes and Panameras rather than iconic 2-seater 911s. This is not to say that there is anything particularly inappropriate about Cayennes and Panameras in the Chinese market – but they must compete against a broad range of other powerful 4-door vehicles without the immense brand heritage advantage that comes from association with the 911.

Time for precision portfolio management
Increasingly, the success of luxury brands in the China marketplace will depend on their applying far more precision to the development of their portfolio. They must prioritize models based on the features that genuinely appeal to China’s luxury buyers, but also based on intelligent analysis of the models that will most effectively differentiate their brand position. At the same time, they must prioritize the distribution and the promotion of those vehicles that will deliver the greatest sales volume – and the greatest revenue.
How can luxury auto brands set about refining their portfolios to drive sustainable growth and protect share through brand differentiation?

Three steps for sustainable growth:

  1. Base product differentiation strategy around a full understanding of functional and emotional needs
    Brands must interrogate how the emotional needs of auto buyers align with the social image and functional benefits of their brand, and they should prioritize vehicles and product features that reinforce this connection.
     
  2. Prioritize on multiple levels
    To maximize resources efficiently, brands must determine which models will most effectively create brand differentiation and support the overall communications strategy, and which models will need to be present at the dealership as display or test-drive vehicles to support on-the-ground sales activities. This may involve vehicles for different roles: high-profile models to attract premium car buyers, as well as entry-level vehicles that may prove the strongest source of sales amongst China’s high proportion of first-time buyers.
     
  3. Catering to the tastes and preferences of Chinese customers
    Chinese car owners have different driving habits formed in a different driving environment and on different road conditions to those experienced in many other markets. For the most part, they also have significantly less experience of owning and driving vehicles. As a result, they have very different expectations and priorities when it comes to the features of a luxury car, and a different level of willingness when it comes to paying for them. Many luxury auto brands are already establishing design centers in China to understand and cater to the tastes and preferences of Chinese car buyers for both exterior and interior features. Brands such as Audi, BMW, Volvo and Land Rover have already launched long wheelbase versions of classic marques in order to appeal to Chinese drivers’ preferences.

Now the real luxury brand battle starts
In all of these areas, the manufacturers behind luxury auto brands must identify the gap between their intended global positioning and local realities. They must set clear guidelines for delivering differentiation on the ground that can generate the local positioning that they seek, and ensure that this is delivered consistently across all touch points and over time. However, these guidelines also need to be flexible enough to allow for local interpretation and adaptation. As brands battle to build new, relevant positions for the Chinese market, we are about to witness one of the most exciting phases in one of the most dynamic auto markets in history.

TNS新华信 汽车研究总监 刘子扬 

豪华汽车品牌,就像其他任何一种汽车生产商一样,在中国市场开始一场“淘金热”。 2012年到2013年的22% 的增长率,保证了任何可能的知名品牌不仅在市场可占一席之地,而且在进一步稳固市场地位 --- 尽管有GDP增幅减缓的不良预期以及限购的政策的存在。正如今年北京汽车展所示,大多数品牌靠不断增长的生产线来保持并增长市场份额,并保证了吸引下一拨首次购买豪华汽车的用户的切入点。但是对一个竞争日益激烈的市场来说,关于如何管理其产品组合以及管理品牌,现在到了实行精准战略布局的阶段了。

进入中国市场的队伍在增长
中国的豪华汽车市场现在正被三大德国品牌“奥迪、宝马和奔驰”主导,占75%的市场份额。但是,挑战者正在逐渐加入进来。雷克萨斯、路虎、沃尔沃和凯迪拉克已经打进中国市场。去年在上海车展,红旗重振旗鼓推出了L5豪华轿车,而福特也在今年大举振兴林肯品牌。

与品牌种类一样,豪华汽车的车型也在全方位地迅速增长。当我们将数目不断增长的本地化的车型,作为一个备选方案提供给购车者,豪华汽车的竞技场变得更加拥挤。本地化的车型,如奔驰GLK、宝马X1、奥迪Q3和凯迪拉克XTS,已经帮他们的制造商避免了很重的进口关税,同时潜在地吸引着对价格更加敏感的买家。

处于一个拥挤的市场,需要差异化战略
豪华品牌的激增,乍一看好似市场强健的一个信号。但实际上对于汽车生产商和消费者而言这增加了巨大的挑战。豪华汽车购买者需要更多的考虑时间来做抉择,因为纵览比较所有的可购产品的过程,正变得异常地复杂。与此同时,给市面上所有的车型在车行展厅找一个空间展示,也让豪华汽车代理商们勉为其难。而这些分销渠道方面的挑战还只是开始。

制造商面对的另外一个挑战可以说更加艰巨:在激烈的市场竞争中,将豪华汽车品牌差异化,面对的困难十分巨大,特别是当中国的汽车买家在第一次购买的时候,面对着如此眼花缭乱的车型选择。传统而言,汽车制造商总能够成功地将自家产品与竞争者产品区分而脱颖而出:宝马有后轮驱动,奥迪有quattro全时四轮驱动系统,保时捷有后置发动机。但是,由于每一家制造商的产品组合正在不停增长健全,使得将产品差异性保持下去更加有挑战性。

产品组合精准战略的时代
豪华汽车品牌在中国市场的成功越来越多地取决于他们实施更加精准的产品组合发展战略。他们需要将车型区分优先顺序,同时,必须将可以实现最多销售量--也是最多利润--- 的分销渠道和促销放在优先位置。

豪华汽车品牌如何优化产品组合来达到可持续发展,并且通过品牌差异化来保护市场份额?这里是三个重要步骤:

  1. 围绕功能上和情感上需求的全面理解,实行产品差异化战略
    品牌商必须探寻汽车买家如何将情感需求和社交形象、汽车品牌功能效应结合在一起,而且他们必须优化车辆和产品特色,来加强这个结合。
  2. 多层次地优化产品重要性顺序
    为了最有效率地利用资源,品牌必须决定哪一个车型能够最有效地树立品牌差异性,来支撑总体的宣传战略;还要决定哪一个车型需要在代理车行中作为展品出现,或者作为试驾车型,来支持前线的销售活动。这或许要给车辆融进不同的角色:高档车型来吸引重要车辆买家;而在中国相当大一部分的首次购车顾客中,入门级别车辆或许能成为最强销售来源。
  3. 迎合中国顾客的品味和喜好
    同其他市场相比,中国汽车车主有着不同的驾驶环境和不同的路况,因而形成了不一样的驾驶习惯。最重要的是,对于拥有和驾驶车辆方面,他们相对地很大程度上缺少经验。这样一来,他们对选择豪华汽车的特征方面,有着非常不同的期望;而为之付款时,也有着不同程度的购买决心。很多汽车豪华品牌已经在中国建立设计中心,来理解和迎合中国汽车购买者在内饰和外饰的品味和喜好,例如奥迪、宝马、沃尔沃和路虎已经开始投放了长车轴的经典豪华车型,来吸引中国的驾驶者。

现在,真正的豪华汽车品牌战役已经打响
在所有这些方面,豪华汽车品牌背后的生产商必须确定他们既定的全球定位和当地现实情况之间的差距。他们必须确定实施品牌差异化的明确指导方针,达到他们寻求的本地定位的效果。但是,这些战略也需要足够灵活,以便理解和适应当地市场。由于品牌要力争在中国市场建立新的、适合市场行情的定位,我们即将见证一个极具活力的汽车市场上最令人期待的时代之一。