Lin Lei - Chairman, TNS Sinotrust

Following an apparent slowdown of the auto sales market, retaining customers after the initial purchase will become a bigger threat to dealers, especially those in the 4S (sales, service, survey and spare parts) space. According to our monitoring data, the service customer loss of the entire auto industry hit 30 percent in 2014. This is the result of a number of developments within the wider industry. Firstly, the previous profit formula used by most 4S dealers was sales-oriented. Because of this, their after-sales services were mainly focused on technical competence of the car rather than aftercare, management, marketing or service. But as the auto market has rapidly developed over the past few years, many drawbacks of the after-sales model have begun to surface. The approach is inconvenient for many customers, offers low flexibility and does not instil customer trust. At the same time, we are also witnessing the steady growth of the auto service industry in the guide of car repairs and maintenance, as well as other business models catering to the customer who already owns a car. Customers, especially those out of warranty, are more likely to choose well-located and low-cost express repair chain stores and garages, and this has further raised the loss rate. Added to this is the impact of the Chinese government’s anti-trust regulations targeting the auto industry, that direct heavy penalties on auto parts monopolies, in order to further open up the auto parts market and allow consumers greater freedom to walk away from 4S dealers’ after-sales services.

Faced with the increasing customer loss, what should automakers’ and 4S dealers’ after-sales departments do? Based on our experience working with auto makers and dealers, we suggest the following solutions:

  1. Have a full view: Make a good use of data to analyse customer value and diagnose the severity of customer loss

    Automakers have accumulated an enormous amount of DMS data, but their customer data analyses are usually focused on a given period of time, say a certain quarter or year and seldom used to provide a wider view of the customer pool. However there is valuable customer insight to be found within the big data. For example, by analysing customers’ activity and spend in dealerships, we can derive information on which customers send their cars for maintenance as scheduled, which choose 4S dealers for repair but not maintenance, and which have already betrayed their 4S dealers (within or out of the warranty period). We can then categorise them into “regular customers”, “occasional customers” and “betrayers”. These groupings help us measure 4S dealers’ customer retention and the strength of their business operations.

  2. Guard against gradual loss: Strengthen customer care, maintain ties with loyal customers, and retain those about to leave

    After categorising customers and understanding the severity of customer loss, automakers and 4S dealers should further strengthen their ties with customers and try to minimize further loss. But how? According to our data, despite the inevitable loss of customers, existing customers still make up the larger proportion and should therefore be where automakers focus their attention. To prevent further customer loss, automakers need to build closer ties with these existing customers. For example, highlighting the value of 4S service by offering to customers a more comprehensive, sophisticated and professional maintenance service. Using the customer data on 4S visits and spend, we can offer different degrees of incentives, service fee reductions and other value-added services to make them feel valued and respected, in the same way as an airline’s membership system. Advanced computing programmes can also identify customers that may leave and provide warning, allowing dealers to contact and renew the relationship.

  3. Learn from mistakes: develop relevant solutions to retain and win back valuable customers

    Understanding why customers have been lost is crucial if dealers are to move forward and improve retention. First, there is a need to distinguish between high-value customers and low-value ones. High-value customers are those who are willing to pay extra money for higher efficiency, quality and value-added services – ultimately those who we don’t want to lose next time round. For this group, it is essential to understand who we are losing them to: the biggest competitors; chain stores, local neighbourhood outlets, online providers? We also need to know their strengths and weaknesses, and why customers are choosing them, whether because of high efficiency, a convenient location or a more thoughtful service.

Once the landscape has been mapped out, automakers and 4S dealers should focus on improving their current services according to their own resources in order to leverage their differentiated strengths and compete against alternative business models. This can often mean designing localised services to provide a more convenient experience, or creating distinct value-added services which personalise aftercare for the customer.

By taking the three steps above, we believe that 4S dealers can transform an unwieldy and unprofitable after-sales service into a refined and efficient one that retains valuable customers, remains competitive and drives profits.

TNS新华信 董事长 林雷

继销售市场增长放缓后,售后用户流失比例的进一步增长无疑对4S店的营收造成了更大的威胁。据新华信监测数据显示,2014年汽车行业的售后流失率均值已高达30%,多个厂家的用户流失率在不断加剧,每年的流失增长率大约是3%左右。为什么会出现这样的情况?一方面,以往4S店的盈利模式都是以销售为主导,而售后方面将更多的关注点放在技术层面,在管理、营销、服务层面的发展都相对滞后。随着市场发展,原有4S售后模式已显示出“盈利模式单一、便利性及灵活性不足和部分用户不信任”等问题。另一方面,随着汽车维修行业的稳定发展,维修保养水平趋向均衡;市场上的替代型业态也蓬勃发展起来,用户更倾向选择交通位置便利和价格优惠的快修连锁店、汽修厂,尤其是出保以后的用户,流失的比例更高。而最近,国家围绕着汽车行业反垄断问题的一系列举措,特别是对汽车零部件企业开出的高额罚单将指引零部件市场进一步开放,用户离开4S店的门槛将进一步降低。

面对用户流失问题的加剧,厂家及4S店的售后服务应该如何把握和应对。新华信认为可以进行以下几步的工作:综观全局、防微杜渐、围追堵截。

  • 一、 综观全局:即通过运用好DMS数据,分析用户价值,把脉流失情况
    经过多年的发展,现有的汽车厂家都积累了大量的DMS数据,日常的分析使用多限于当季或当年,使这些无形资产变成沉睡冗余的数据;但其实使用大数据的分析方法,我们是可以挖掘出更多有价值的用户信息出来。例如:可以通过用户的消费频次、消费金额界定用户的属性,分析出哪些用户是每年都按时来保养的?哪些用户是只会选择4S店进行维修,但不进行保养?哪些用户已经流失?他们是在保修期内或保修期外流失?由此厂家可以初步区分出用户属于规律到店型、偶尔修补型还是叛离型的属性,掌握用户流失的情况,也可以帮助特约店分析各店的用户维系能力及运营水平。
     
  • 二、 防微杜渐:即通过加强用户关怀,维系好忠诚用户,预警及挽留临界流失用户
    在区分了用户价值,掌握了流失情况后,厂家及4S店需要进一步做好用户维系的工作,尽量将用户流失的缺口缩小。但是应该怎样做呢?通过内部数据我们可知,虽然流失的用户很多,但实际上由于销量的增长,在网的用户占的比重更多一些。因此,防止用户流失最重要的一点还是与在网用户建立更紧密的关系:例如,提高价值感知,为新用户灌输4S店保养更全面、更完善、更专业的观念;根据用户的积累到店次数与金额(类似于航空公司的会员制划分),给予不同程度的奖励、减免或提供增值服务,令老用户感受到“被重视”的价值……另外,在预警流失用户的方面,新华信通过科学的计算方法就有机会探寻到每一个即将要流失的用户;但预警了以后是否能把临界用户转变回来,就要依赖厂家或4S店是否提供相应的吸引政策了。
     
  • 三、 围追堵截:即了解流失用户去向,研究当地替代型业态的发展及优劣势,以制定措施,挽留和争夺更多有价值的用户资源
    针对流失了的用户,我们并不能听任他们流失就算了,通过研究他们的需求与流向,对于将来的工作还是很有帮助的。首先,了解不同流失用户的需求,从中区分出高价值与低价值人群,所谓“高价值人群”是指某些愿意为效率、品质及其它增值服务付费的人群;而单纯追求低价的流失用户,可能已经不是4S店的目标人群,应该适当放弃。其次,再了解高价值人群的流向,才能最终明确我们最大的竞争对手是谁——连锁店?社区店?他们有哪些优劣势——效率高?距离近?服务更加贴心?……

在综合考虑价值最大化的用户需求及双方优劣势后,厂家和4S店应该可以根据自身资源改进现有服务,设计及提供更多适合当地情况,有特色的增值服务;务求在未来的用户资源争夺战中,双方能形成各取所需的差异化的良性竞争模式。

综上,新华信认为,经过以上三个阶段,4S店的售后服务将彻底地从现在的粗放型向精细化转变;在将来的竞争环境中更好地存活下来,实现和保持更好的效益