Rémy Pothet - Global Automotive Sector Head

The connected car has an exciting destination, but it will get there faster if auto brands let others do some of the driving

The connected car’s willing passengers
For consumers, the connected car is the next menu-item feeding an almost insatiable hunger for connectivity. Systems are already being deployed that will enable drivers to continue interacting with their personal networks, and personalised technology, whilst on the move. They are promised the ability to continue sending emails and texts using voice commands, apps that project graphics non intrusively onto dashboard screens, and plugins that connect their smartphones to their vehicles and upload preferences for wholly personalised driving experiences. But there are plenty of others with even more to gain from connecting cars: safety campaigners are promised huge reductions in traffic accidents; green campaigners get cuts in CO2 emissions through smoother traffic flows; insurance providers and rental services get to tailor their offerings and roll out new pay-per-use models.

The connected car has plenty of passengers eager to come along for the ride, but despite the exciting prospects on the horizon, it will struggle to make progress unless the auto industry first decides who is doing the driving and what their motivation is for doing so. Both technology companies and auto manufacturers have much to gain from driving connected car technology forward, but both stand to lose out significantly if they fail to engineer the right formula. To navigate the significant challenges that still lie ahead for the connected car, they need a clear view of what the real business benefits stand to be – and the best way of securing them.

Parallel connection strategies for mobile manufacturers and network providers, the connected car offers an entirely new category in which to play, one in which they can leverage ready-made brands, credibility and expertise. The most immediate challenges and opportunities revolve around securing leadership within the automotive space. Since it is connectivity that consumers prize, mobile services delivered within vehicles will be indivisible from those delivered elsewhere. Auto-compatibility is likely to prove a key differentiator for both smartphone manufacturers and operators, and those who fail to demonstrate it could suffer declining market share as a result.

For their part, auto manufacturers must decide whether the technology that connects up their cars will take the form of wholly owned, integrated systems, each offering a key differentiator from rivals; or a collaborative, open platform that provides a level playing field for brands to build different connected car propositions using the same communications standard.

These two approaches suggest different strategies, and at the moment, auto manufacturers are pursuing both of them simultaneously. On the one hand, they are partnering with smartphone manufacturers and mobile operators to develop collaborative platforms. A group of ten manufacturers have already partnered with Apple, to provide the iPhone-maker with access to in-car screens that could enable apps to be used within their vehicles. The Car Connectivity Consortium, formed by some of the largest manufacturers with Apple’s smartphone-making rivals, has developed the common Mirrorlink standard to connect smartphone content to vehicles’ dashboard screens via Bluetooth or USB cable. And most recently Google’s Open Automotive Alliance (OAA) has signed up Audi, GM, Honda and Hyundai to a common platform for Android integration with connected cars.

At the same time as pursuing such collaborative strategies however, every single major manufacturer is busily preparing its own connected car system:
Renault’s R-Link, GM’s Onstar, BMW’s Connected Drive, Audi’s Connect and Toyota’s Entune. This parallel, proprietary approach protects auto brands from over-dependence on a single smartphone platform, but it also reveals their serious misgivings about giving up control of the in-car environment to technology companies, which may not share their vision of where the connected car should be going.

Keep your eyes on the roadmap
However, in hedging their bets and manoeuvring for position in this way, auto manufacturers could find themselves guilty of taking the future connectivity of their vehicles for granted. Mobile operators, for their part, know better. They can look back with regret at expensive attempts to deliver over-the-top services to consumers when all those consumers really wanted was a more reliable signal. Like them, manufacturers should recognise that simple connectivity is the single biggest priority for their connected car offerings.

Collaboration with technology partners is not only the best hope of securing such connectivity. It is also the best course of navigating the significant regulatory twists and turns that lie ahead for connected vehicles.

Significant improvements in the Human Machine Interface (HMI) are the essential development if connected car technology is to satisfy government regulators and safety campaigners, and enjoy widespread adoption. Much of the requirement for HMI development lies with the auto manufacturers themselves. Their integrated systems have already been able to deliver safety advances such as E-call, which uses a vehicle’s systems to detect when a serious accident has taken place, and alerts the emergency services.

However, manufacturers must also recognise that the most significant safety advances will require partnership with mobile technology companies. It is these that are best-placed to deliver the voice interfaces that will allow emails and SMS messages to be dictated rather than typed, and the touch gestures that enable more effective, quicker and safer multi-tasking when driving; they may also be the most appropriate companies to take the lead on eye-tracking technology, perhaps the most effective avenue for ensuring that a driver’s attention remains focused on the road where it belongs.

Where privacy is concerned, auto manufacturers are likely to benefit from the implicit agreements already established between mobile companies and their customers whereby data is shared in exchange for enhanced services. Ultimately, partnership with established mobile brands may increase the extent to which drivers are willing to have data on their location and driving behaviour shared, in order to deliver intuitive services, safer driving experiences, and more competitive pricing in areas such as insurance. And the experience of technology brands in managing data privacy issues will stand the connected car in good stead when it comes to protecting driver information in a way that satisfies governments and privacy campaigners.

The drive towards social cars
Collaboration is not just a handy means of addressing concerns over safety and privacy, however; it is also an essential prerequisite for the most important aspects of connected cars’ potential. Ultimately, both drivers and the brands they drive will benefit most when their vehicles are able to talk directly to one another, sharing information freely. The ambition for auto manufacturers should not simply be for cars to be connected; they must strive for them to be social as well.

Cars that can communicate using a common technological standard have far more sources of data available to them to help guide their drivers and keep them safe. When it comes to maintaining the balance between staying constantly connected and driving safely, the ability for cars to communicate freely with the vehicle coming to a sudden stop up ahead, the traffic light about to change, or the mobile map which knows exactly where on the road the vehicle is, stands to be hugely important.

Collaborative, common platforms that draw their strength from the fact that all vehicles have access to them should be the priority for the industry’s key players.

For manufacturers though, social cars are not just a means of enhancing driver safety. They also point towards the most important benefits that auto brands can gain from the advance of connected car technology. Rather than seeking to parcel off and own different aspects of the connected car (often at great cost in terms of budget and resources), manufacturers should focus on encouraging shared platforms for the free exchange of data – and turn their attention to developing new services and offers to take advantage of that data. They should focus on forging collaborative strategic partnerships that enable data sharing, not just because this is the best strategy for the future of the connected car, but because it is the best strategy for the future of their businesses.

Let big data be the driver
Auto brands stand on the threshold of a motoring age when individual car components are able to communicate levels of wear and tear via the web, enabling remote diagnostics, preventative alerts, more efficient servicing and significantly improved customer loyalty. Combining vehicle and dealership experiences over customer lifecycles will power more predictive retention models. And with a flood of data showing exactly how individuals drive, product development can deliver the precise features and designs that drivers need, judging how different types react in different conditions, how they make use of their vehicles’ features, and how the different components perform when they do.

None of these benefits will require unique, manufacturer-specific integrated systems; instead, all of them will be enhanced by open communication platforms that enable different components and different potential data sources to speak the same language.

Yet the big data generated by connected cars will not be able to speak for itself. It requires a new relationship between manufacturers and technology partners to generate it, but it will also require a new relationship between manufacturers and research agencies to take advantage of it.

Researchers are uniquely qualified for developing the analytics platforms and capabilities that can transform the data emitted by connected cars into meaningful and rapidly actionable insights. The key to unlocking the full potential of connected vehicles lies in our ability to put these new data streams into context, connecting them to other relevant sources, and providing new and revealing perspectives. Data on driving behaviour, driving conditions and vehicle responses takes on far more meaning when combined with vehicle satisfaction information, spend data, aftercare experiences and perceived quality ratings.

In TNS’s experience, integrating big data in this way can transform the role of research for clients: delivering insights that can be plugged directly into advertising, media and CRM strategies to deliver an immediate competitive advantage. When we combine the trends and patterns revealed by the
connected car’s observations with traditional CRM data, we create sophisticated statistical models with a vast range of applications. We can understand customers as complete individuals, integrating spending patterns with attitudes, driving behaviour and experiences. And we can use geo-location to
distribute CRM information to the right dealerships at the right time, ensuring a seamless, personalised experience wherever a customer’s connected vehicle takes them.

The ultimate destination
The auto industry’s main product is about to become its ultimate source of consumer insight. Social vehicles have the potential to transform drivers’ experiences of products and brands, before and after purchase, building new types of profitable and loyal customer relationships. In doing so they will establish a wholly new playing field on which manufacturers will have no choice to compete. Those that leverage the huge quantity of localised and personalised data that results from connected cars to deliver tangible value to consumers will gain a powerful competitive edge over those that do not.
The manufacturers that finish on top in the new connected landscape will share one key characteristic. They will have understood that who owns the technology within the connected car is ultimately far less important than where that technology can take them.

全球汽车行业负责人 白瀚邑

有很多“乘客”渴望坐上数字化时代的汽车,但尽管即将来临的前景令人兴奋,这辆车将很难取得进展,除非汽车行业首先决定由谁来做这辆车的“司机”、以及他们做这个“司机”的动机。

对于消费者来说,数字化时代的汽车是下一个“菜单项”,满足对数字化连通性几乎永不满足的饥饿。一些系统已经被采用,从而使驾驶者在驾驶过程中能够继续与他们的个人交际网络和个性化的科技互动。汽车品牌向他们承诺,在驾驶时,他们将能继续利用语音命令来发送电子邮件和文本,使用能够以非侵入的方式将图形投影到仪表盘屏幕上的应用软件,以及能把他们的智能手机连接到他们的车辆、并上传他们喜好的设置从而实现完全个性化的驾驶体验的插件。然而还有其他更多组织和企业能够从数字化时代的汽车那里获得更多的好处:品牌向交通安全倡导者许诺交通事故将大幅减少;向环保倡导者允诺通过更畅顺的交通使二氧化碳排放量降低;保险公司和汽车租赁服务公司将能够为消费者量身定制产品和服务、并推出各种新的按使用量付费的模式。

科技公司和汽车制造商们都能从驱动数字化汽车科技向前发展上获得很大的好处,但如果他们没能设计出一个正确的“配方”,那么他们都将损失惨重。要驾驭仍然摆在数字化时代的汽车面前的显著挑战,他们需要清晰地理解真正的商业益处是什么–以及确保实现这些益处的最好方式。

对于手机制造商和网络提供商而言,数字化时代的汽车提供了一个全新的可供自己发挥所长的品类,在这里,他们可以利用现成的品牌、信誉和专业知识。最直接的挑战和机遇在于确保自身在汽车领域的领导地位。由于消费者看重的是连通性,因此在车内能够实现的手机服务将与在其他地方实现的手机服务不可分割。不管是对智能手机制造商还是对网络运营商而言,汽车兼容性都很有可能会成为一个关键的与竞争对手的差异点,而那些未能实现优良的汽车兼容性的智能手机制造商和网络运营商可能会遭受市场份额下降的结果。

对汽车制造商来说,他们必须决定使他们的汽车实现数字化连通的科技是应采取专属、整合系统的形式,从而在每方面都能够显著区别于竞争对手;还是应采取协作的、共享同一个开放平台的形式,这样的平台提供了一个公平竞争的舞台、使品牌能够使用相同的通信标准建立不同的数字化汽车主张。

这两种方法意味着不同的战略,目前,汽车制造商正同时采取这两种方法。一方面,他们正与智能手机制造商和移动运营商合作以开发各种协作平台。有十家厂商已经与苹果合作,向该iPhone制造商提供访问车载屏幕的权限,这将使iPhone的应用程序能在他们的汽车内使用。由一些最大的汽车制造商与苹果公司的智能手机制造对手联手组成的汽车数字化连通联盟(Car Connectivity Consortium)已开发了通用的Mirrorlink标准、用以将智能手机的内容通过蓝牙或USB线连接到车辆的仪表盘屏幕上。而最近谷歌的开放式汽车联盟(OAA)已和奥迪、通用、本田和现代汽车签订协议,这些汽车厂商将使用一个通用平台,从而实现安卓与数字化汽车的整合。

然而,在追求这样的协作战略的同时,每一个主要的制造商都忙于准备自有的汽车数字化连通系统:雷诺的R-Link、通用汽车的OnStar、宝马的Connected Drive、奥迪的Connect和丰田的Entune。这种与前述协作方式并行的、专有的方式可以保护汽车品牌,防止过度依赖于单一的智能手机平台,但这也显露了汽车品牌对将车内环境的控制权交到科技公司手上的严重担忧,而科技公司对数字化时代的汽车应走的发展方向的看法可能与汽车品牌的看法不一样。

一方面,汽车制造商正与智能手机制造商和移动运营商合作以开发各种协作平台,另一方面,每一个主要的制造商都忙于准备自有的汽车数字化连通系统。然而,在以这种方式两面下注并竞相争夺市场有利位置的同时,汽车制造商可能会发现自己把本品牌汽车未来的数字化连通性当作理所当然的事真是罪过。

紧盯线路图

相比之下,移动运营商比他们懂得更多。移动运营商可以遗憾地回顾他们曾经做过的昂贵的尝试——向消费者提供过度的服务,而所有那些消费者真正想要的只是一个更加可靠的信号。和他们一样,汽车制造商应该认识到,简单方便的数字化连通性是其实现数字化连通的汽车产品所要优先解决的唯一最大的问题。

与科技合作伙伴的协作,不仅仅是确保这种连通性的最大希望。它还是驾驭并胜利通过摆在面前数字化汽车面前的迂回曲折的重重监管的最佳办法。

如果数字化连通汽车科技要满足政府监管和安全提倡者的要求、并得到广泛采用,那么在人机界面(HMI)方面显著的改善是必不可少的。大部分的人机界面开发方面的要求取决于汽车制造商自己。他们的集成系统已经能够提供先进的安全措施,如紧急呼叫,当严重事故发生时,它能利用车辆的系统来探测出该事故,并向应急服务发出警报。

然而,制造商还必须认识到,最显著的安全方面的进步需要与移动科技公司合作来实现。无论是使电子邮件和手机短信消息能够通过口述而不是打字输入的语音接口,还是使驾驶过程中能够进行更有效、更快速和更安全的多任务的触摸手势,这些公司都是最好的“人选”; 他们也可能是引领眼球追踪技术的最合适的公司,而该技术也许是确保驾驶者的注意力始终集中在路面上的最有效的途径。

在隐私保护方面,汽车制造商可能会从移动公司与他们的顾客间已经达成的默示协议中受益,在这种协议下,顾客允许移动公司使用和他们相关的数据以换取更好的服务。最终,建立与手机品牌的合作关系可能会增强驾驶者们分享自己的位置和驾驶行为数据的意愿,而这样就便于汽车制造商提供直观服务、更安全的驾驶体验、和在诸如保险等领域提供更具竞争力的价格。而在保护驾驶员信息、从而满足政府和隐私倡导者的要求方面,科技品牌在管理数据隐私问题上的经验将对数字化汽车的发展大有裨益。

与科技合作伙伴的合作并不只是解决安全和隐私方面担忧的一个方便的手段;它也是发挥数字化连通汽车的各项最重要潜力的必不可少的先决条件。最终,当他们的车能直接相互“交谈”、自由地分享信息时,不管是驾驶者还是他们所驾驶的车的品牌都将是最大的受益者。汽车制造商的雄心不应该仅仅是要实现汽车的数字化连通;他们必须努力实现汽车的“社会化”。

能够通过使用通用的技术标准相互沟通的汽车有更多的数据来源来帮助指引它们的驾驶者、和保证他们的安全。在保持持续的数字化连通和安全驾驶之间的平衡方面,汽车与突然停止了前进的来车之间、与即将转换的红绿灯之间、或者与知道该车辆在路上确切位置的移动地图之间进行自由沟通的能力是非常重要的。

协作式的通用平台应该是汽车业主要厂商应优先考虑的选择,这种平台的优势来自所有车辆都能对其进行访问这一事实。

然而,对汽车制造商而言,“社会化”的车辆不仅仅是一种提高驾驶安全性的手段。“社会化”车辆还指明了汽车品牌可以从数字化连通的汽车科技的进步获得的最重要的益处。与其独立包办并自主拥有数字化连通汽车的每个方面的技术(通常在预算和资源方面造成很大的成本),制造商应该专注于鼓励共享平台、从而实现数据的自由交换——并把注意力转向开发能够利用这些数据的新的服务和产品。他们应该专注制定能实现数据共享的协作战略伙伴关系,这不仅是因为这是数字化连通汽车未来发展的最佳战略,还因为它是制造商们业务未来发展的最佳战略。

让大数据做“司机”


汽车品牌正站在一个新驾驶时代的起点,在这个时代,我们能够通过网络了解各汽车零部件的磨损程度,从而使实现远程诊断、预防性警报和更高效的服务成为可能,并能显著提高顾客忠诚度。在顾客生命周期中结合车辆驾驶体验和经销商体验,将使品牌能够设计和建立更有预测性的顾客保留模型。有了显示个人究竟是如何驾驶车辆的海量数据,产品开发部门可以精确地提供驾驶者需要的功能和设计,判断不同类型的驾驶者在不同条件下的反应如何、他们如何利用自己车辆的功能、以及当他们使用这些功能时不同的零部件表现如何。

所有这些好处都不需要唯一的、每个制造商各自独有的集成系统;相反,能使不同的零部件和不同的潜在数据源使用相同的语言的开放的沟通平台将能改善加强它们的效用。

然而,由数字化连通的汽车所产生的大数据并不能自己说话。它的生成要以制造商和科技合作伙伴间的新关系为前提,而对它的利用也将以制造商和研究机构间的新关系为前提。

研究人员特别具备资质来开发能够把由数字化连通的汽车产生的数据转化为有意义的、快速可操作的洞察的分析平台和功能。开启数字化连通车辆的全部潜力的关键在于我们把这些新的数据流放到实际的背景下考量、将它们与其他相关数据来源联系起来进行分析、并提供新的和有启发性的观点的能力。关于驾驶行为、驾驶条件和车辆反应的数据,在与车辆的满意度信息、花费数据、售后服务体验和感知的质量评级相结合后进行分析,其意义比单独分析这些数据的意义更大。

根据TNS的经验,以这种方式整合大数据可以大大改变研究对客户的作用:提供可以直接加入广告战略、媒体战略和顾客关系管理战略的洞察,从而实现即时的竞争优势。当我们把由对数字化连通的汽车的观察所揭示的趋势和模式与传统的顾客关系管理数据结合,我们就创造了应用范围广阔的、先进复杂的统计模型。我们能够完完全全地把顾客作为个体来理解,整合消费模式与态度、驾驶行为和体验。另外,我们还可以利用地理位置来在对的时间向对的经销商发送顾客关系管理信息,从而确保无缝的、个性化的体验,无论顾客驾驶他们的数字化连通车辆去到哪里。

最终目的地

汽车行业的主要产品即将成为其消费者洞察的最终来源。“社会化“车辆有潜力改变驾驶者在售前和售后对产品和品牌的体验,并构建新型的可盈利和忠诚的顾客关系。在实现这一潜力的过程中,它们将建立一个全新的赛场,在这个赛场上,制造商别无选择,只有参与竞争。那些利用来源于数字化连通车辆的海量本地化和个性化数据、从而向消费者提供实实在在的价值的制造商将获得对那些没有这么做的厂商的强大的竞争优势。

那些在新的数字化连通汽车格局中名列前茅的制造商将有一个共同的关键特征。他们都已经认识到,谁拥有数字化连通汽车内的科技,最终将远不如这些科技能够把他们带向何方来得重要。