Andy Turton - Head of Automotive, Americas

Auto brands know the value of meaningful customer research. They know that it’s far simpler and more cost-effective to bring back repeat customers than it is to acquire new ones. And they have long since made the connection between customer experience, customer loyalty, increased lifetime spend and business growth.

And yet many of the auto executives scrutinising their customer satisfaction scores find themselves asking the same question: why aren’t my numbers moving? And how can I improve my customer experience and increase revenues when it’s so difficult to see the impact of any changes?

To answer these questions, we need to take a closer look at what customer experience research is best suited to revealing – and we need to explore what it takes to help it reveal more.

Snapshots in the customer journey
The current approach to customer experience research, in auto and elsewhere, focuses on the most meaningful touchpoints in the customer journey – and also the touchpoints that are easiest to capture. Customers are surveyed after they have bought a new vehicle, after their first service, when they fix a problem under warranty, when they come in for repairs following an accident, and in several other clearly identified scenarios – almost all of which involve an experience that takes place at a dealership.

These experiences matter of course. And good or bad experiences are worth knowing about. They can identify the customer experience performances that seem to correlate with different future loyalty and spending patterns. They can prioritise improvements and they can incentivise dealerships to deliver those improvements. However, we are fooling ourselves if we believe that this handful of well-surveyed touchpoints adds up to a complete picture of customer experience.

Part of the risk is that surveying all customers in just a few specific situations tends to obscure the meaningful differences between those customers. A common experience tends to deliver a common mindset and a common response. And this helps to explain why customer satisfaction metrics don’t move more dramatically than they do. What we really need is a fuller view of customers that enables us to identify the real differences between them. Only a complete view of the customer journey will enable us to identify meaningful customer segments, people for whom the same touchpoints matter, and planning customer experience strategies around them.

The sum of all experiences
A customer’s experience of an auto brand begins when they first encounter the claims it makes in marketing and advertising, and includes everything that happens subsequently. Every time that they slip behind the wheel and start their engine, think about upgrading their in-car systems or pick up the phone to make an enquiry, they are adding to the memory bank that will help to direct their future spend and their consideration process for the next vehicle purchase. Customers are the sum of their experiences and the mindset they bring to each new experience cannot be separated from the experiences they have had previously; these are the filter through which each encounter with the brand takes place.

The same objectively good experience delivered to two separate customers will produce very different feedback if one has a positive accumulated experience of the brand – and the other, a negative one. The positive customer is likely to provide positive feedback while the customer with negative previous experiences is less likely to do so. By focusing solely on the most recent experience, we risk obscuring others that may be the real trigger of satisfaction or dissatisfaction; the factors really influencing lifetime spend or propensity to churn.

Take the example of a dealership where customers frequently complain about service check-in times – and where they typically spend less and are less likely to return to buy a new car than customers at a dealership in the next town. You would assume that the dealership has a service check-in problem. Yet when we compare the average times we find that check-in is actually no quicker at the neighbouring dealership. The difference is that customers at this other dealership rarely complain. Why?

The answer of course is that check-in itself is not the problem; however it is the occasion when customers get the chance to vent their feelings about the cumulative experience that they’ve had up to that point. Low satisfaction scores at check-in certainly indicate a customer experience problem, but they don’t necessarily tell us what the real problem is.

If we are to devote resources to improving the customer experience at our problem dealership, we probably won’t achieve much by cutting check-in times. We need a means of identifying the pattern of previous experiences that provide the real triggers for check-in complaints. By focusing on such patterns, we can begin to tease out meaningful differences between our customer segments, whose needs and experiences will vary in important ways. Adapting services and offers to these distinct groups can make our customer experience management more subtle, responsive, productive and profitable.

The good news is that we increasingly have the means of doing this.

Moving beyond the satisfaction survey
Social media listening enables us to predict fluctuations in brand equity in close to real-time – and we can do so across a far more representative sample of consumers than traditional surveys. In the customer experience space, this greater representativeness extends to all types of experience, not just those taking place through a dealership, or when it’s convenient to invite customers to complete a survey. When people make a comment about their vehicle, we hear them. We don’t have to wait for them to have a service first.

Because we can pick up on good and bad experiences as they happen, we can provide frontline dealership staff with timely insights about priorities. In auto, we have the potential to go further still. As connected cars deliver more and more data on actual driving, we can integrate an increasingly precise view of the experiences that most influence customer satisfaction. We can treat each customer based on up-to-date insight about how their vehicle has been performing, and what the impact of that performance might be.

This new approach to customer experience research will reach its full potential when we integrate manufacturers’ own customer-level spend data into the model. Matching meaningful patterns of customer experience with lifetime value provides a powerful tool for unlocking growth, at both dealership and brand level. Armed with insight as to exactly how, when and why experience at a dealership impacts brand perceptions and propensity to buy, we can do much more than simply improve those experiences. We can plan distribution networks, offers and promotions more effectively; we can use insight to inform vehicle development, features and trim; we can drive brands forward more efficiently and more precisely.

Manufacturers have traditionally been reluctant to share such data – and the truth is that researchers need to give them a good reason for doing so. Brands will do so willingly if the return is a much more accurate and subtle understanding of where to invest, and where to reduce effort, in a bid to increase customer loyalty. That day is drawing ever closer.

TNS 美国汽车研究负责人 Andy Turton

汽车厂商们深刻了解有效的消费者调研的价值。他们深知,保留回头客比赢取新消费者更为简单划算。因此他们早就厘清了消费者体验、消费者忠诚度与提高消费者份额,促进业务增长之间的关系。

然而,当高管们仔细审视自己的消费者满意度分值后,都不约而同地问自己同一个问题:为什么我的销售数字没有变化?我要怎么做才能在很难看到任何变化影响的前提下,提升消费者体验,增加营业收入?

要回答这些问题,我们需要近一步研究究竟怎样的消费者体验调研才是最合适的,到底通过怎样的方法才能找到答案。

消费者体验简介

无论是汽车行业还是其他行业,现有的消费者体验研究往往着眼于消费者体验中最具意义、同时也是最容易获取的接触点。无论是消费者购买了一辆新车、做了第一次保养、在保修期内修复了汽车、在车祸后进厂维修、还是有任何其他问题产生,他们都会被安排接受一次访问。我们发现,几乎所有的客户体验都或多或少在经销商处发生。

这些体验非常重要。消费者体验,无论好坏,都值得了解。它们可以帮助确定哪些服务会导致不同的消费体验,以及它们与未来忠诚度以及消费模式之间一一对应的关系。了解这些,可以帮助我们优先安排亟需提高的方面,并具化成激励机制鼓励经销商进步。可是,如果我们完全依靠于接触点调研,相信凭着它们可以管中窥豹,完全了解消费者体验的话,那也是不行的。

如果只在特定的情况下对所有消费者进行调研,会掩盖消费者之间的显著差异。相同的体验往往会产生相同的心态和反应。而这有助于解释为什么客户满意度指标和实际情况相比,并没有大幅的改变。我们真正需要的是更为全面地了解消费者,识别不同消费者之间的真正差异。只有完整了解消费者体验,我们才能识别有意义的消费者细分,了解哪些接触点会对他们起作用,并且基于这些认知制定更为匹配的消费者体验战略。

集消费者体验之大成

当消费者接触到汽车品牌的营销活动和各种广告,消费体验就正式开始了。当消费者启动引擎、转动方向盘,考虑升级车载系统并致电询问的时候,所有的一切都将变成消费者的直接体验,他们会记住这些经历,而这些经历会在他们购置下一辆汽车时,左右他们的购车决策以及未来支出。消费者的消费行为基于他们的所有消费经历,他们的心态不会断离于之前的消费体验;因此,消费者与品牌的每一次接触,都是消费者体验的过滤器。

我们让两名消费者同时接受一个服务体验的测试,其中一名消费者有多次积极的品牌体验,另一名消费者有多次消极的品牌体验。同样的服务体验对他们而言,得到的反馈也不同 -- 积极的消费者会给予积极的反馈,而消极的消费者可能就会给予负面的反馈。如果我们仅仅关注近阶段的消费体验的话,往往会忽视影响满意度的真正原因;以及影响长期支出或影响偏好的真正因素。

再举个例子。A经销商经常被顾客投诉保养登记时间过长,跟B经销商的顾客相比,他们的顾客在这家经销商店里发生的支出较少,也不太愿意在这里购置新车。很多人会理所当然地认为A经销商输在保养登记这一环节。可是,当我们将A经销商与B经销商做横向比较之后,发现两家店的登记时间长短不相上下,但B经销商的顾客很少对此进行抱怨。究竟为什么呢?

答案揭晓!保养登记本身根本不是问题,但这个时间节点恰恰是消费者之前经历过的所有负面情绪累积到一定程度并最终爆发的点。登记保养这部分的低满意度分值背后隐藏着消费者的体验问题,但没有人知道问题究竟出在哪儿。

如果我们真的要帮这家经销商提高消费者体验的话,仅仅缩减保养登记时间这一做法并不管用。我们要找出之前究竟哪些行为导致了消费者在登记保养这一节点发生投诉。只有通过研究这些行为,我们才能逐渐梳理出细分消费者的不同,以及他们在需求和体验方面的显著差异。根据不同群体调整服务模式,可以使我们的消费者体验管理更为细致快速,有效多利。

可喜的是,通过逐步摸索,我们终于有了解决方法。

超越满意度调研

社交媒体的监测使我们能够实时预测品牌价值的波动,而且相比传统的调研形式,我们可以借助社交媒体监测更具代表性的消费者群体。在客户体验的空间,这种代表性会延展到所有的消费体验,而并不局限于通过经销商,或在消费者方便时才请他们填写调查问卷。当消费者评价他们的车时,我们应闻弦音而知雅意,不要等到他们做保养了才去试图了解他们的想法。

因为熟知好坏两种体验,当事情发生的时候,我们会给销售人员及时的建议,告知哪些需要优先服务。汽车行业仍有进步的空间。随着智能汽车提供越来越多的数据支持实际驾驶,我们可以从中整合出一个日益精确、最能影响消费者满意度的观点。我们可以根据消费者所驾驶的车辆的表现,以及这些表现对驾驶者所产生的不同影响,来决定如何接待这些消费者。

当我们将厂商独有的消费者支出数据整合到我们的模型里,这种新的客户体验研究方法将充分发挥作用。将有效的消费者体验模式和长期价值相匹配,能为经销商和品牌两家的销量增长提供一个强大的工具。深入了解消费者在经销商处的经历中的那些如何,何时和为什么对消费者品牌认知和购买倾向的影响,我们能走得更远,而不仅仅囿于提升消费者体验。我们可以更有效地帮助厂商进行经销商布局、产品及服务供给、以及促销活动;我们可以根据我们的认知告知厂商如何进行汽车开发、该有的特性以及配件;我们可以帮助品牌更有效更精准地发展。

汽车厂商们一般都不愿意分享他们的数据,研究员需要说服他们。如果研究员可以向厂商提供更准确更细微的认知,告诉他们应该在哪个点加大投资,哪个点减少投入,最终提高消费者忠诚度,我相信厂商们肯定很愿意分享他们自己的数据。我相信这一天很快会到来的。