Lin Lei - Chairman, TNS Sinotrust

This time last year I wrote an article exploring online e-commerce. After viewing the sales performance of mainstream e-commerce players, I expressed my opinion that despite a surge in online shopping more generally, online sales of cars was still relatively low in China, and that many automakers and dealers viewed online platforms as a method of sales lead collection, rather than for sales.

The “Double 11" sale period, China’s version on Cyber Monday* last year brought with it the accustomed spike in auto sales. I reflected on the figures to see whether any of my observations had changed:

  1. The online/offline trend continued.

    During the “Double 11”,50,700 units of cars were ordered through Tmall, about five times that in 2013; through BitAuto, 532,331 units were ordered, more than 5 times of the 90,466 units in 2013; and buyers on Autohome generated a sales of 37,117 units, with a total amount of RMB 6.054 billion Yuan, an increase of some 140 percent from 2013 (RMB 2.643 billion Yuan). Car booking launched by these network platforms are still served to boost customer traffic or collect sales leads offline.

  2. Full-payment car purchase made a substantive step forward.

    During the “Double 11” this year, Autohome bound its payment system with over 6,000 dealers nationwide for the first time enabling full-payment car purchase online. As a result, 2,488 units were sold at full payment, totalling RMB 223 million Yuan.

  3. Auto finance “tested the water”.

    Tmall, BitAuto and other platforms rolled out auto finance services this year to make online car purchase easier for consumers. Meanwhile, the combination of e-commerce and internet finance also improved the efficiency of car loan handling.

Although the trend of low online sales continued during the “Double 11” this year, there were definite developments and breakthroughs in areas such as full-payment car purchase and auto finance. With this in mind, I have some new perspectives on the prospect of the auto e-commerce for 2015:

  1. Auto e-commerce represents an irresistible trend.

    According to our latest survey, Millennials (those born in the 80s and 90s) have emerged as the mainstream online shoppers, with 63 percent of those who make online purchase aged between 18 and 30. In addition, they are becoming the mainstream consumers of cars, with the proportion of Millennials buying cars rising from 38 percent in 2010 to 52 percent in 2013. Our survey revealed that 66 percent of those willing to buy cars online are from these younger generations. As a result, online car purchase is without doubt set to become an important channel for car sales.

    Meanwhile, huge investment was poured into auto e-commerce in 2014: Ping An Insurance Group threw millions of RMBs into Scar.com to provide the O2O model to consumers; SAIC Motor put in hundreds of millions of RMBs into chexaing.com to activate the “Connect” model; and lookcar.com secured millions of dollars’ worth of investment. All these capital inflows will certainly drive the boom in auto e-commerce.

  2. Auto e-commerce will not overturn the existing dealer system, but will drive competition.

    Although online car sales are becoming more and more ordinary, there will always be a need for certain after-sales services to be performed offline. As e-commerce grows, efforts are needed to optimize the current offline service to deliver the best service possible, seamlessly joined up with the online experience of purchase. Coordination on the dealers’ side will remain indispensable.

    From the perspective of dealers, whether to embrace e-commerce or not will be a crucial factor at play in terms of dealer competitiveness. Auto e-commerce directly links the customer with the dealer, and so can greatly facilitate precision marketing and user experience improvement through big data analysis of customer behaviours. Ultimately, this enhances dealers’ operating capability. This will drive a “survival of the fittest” mentality among dealers.

  3. Only cooperation can secure success.

    To become an important sales channel, the automotive industry needs to work with third party platforms, dealers and related businesses to ensure success. Firstly, it should roll out diverse product offerings for consumers; secondly, it must remove consumers’ concerns about on-line payment by working together with payment providers; and thirdly, it should continue to deliver offline services nationwide.

*Cyber Monday is a marketing term for the Monday after the Thanksgiving holiday in the United States. The term "Cyber Monday" was created by marketing companies to persuade people to shop online.

Source of information: Wikipedia

林雷

冉冉飞来红杏雨,又到去年花落处。
去年的此时,在各大电商晒出的成绩单后,我写过一篇专栏《线上的虚假繁荣》,认为中国的网上购车的线下转化率较低,因此许多汽车制造商和经销商都将网络平台作为集客或收集销售线索的重要渠道,而未成为销售的重要渠道。
今年的“双11”如期而至,我们先来看看今年汽车电商的成绩单,与去年相比有何异同:

  1. 线上的虚假繁荣仍继续。 “双11”期间,天猫平台实现订单5.07万辆,约为2013年的5倍;易车全站订单总量为532331辆,较2013年的90466辆订单增长超过5倍;汽车之家订单37117辆,订购总金额60.54亿元,比一年前的26.43亿元增长了约140%。这些订单目的仍为了集客或收集销售线索。 
     
  2. 全款购车走出实质一步。今年“双11”,汽车之家首次和全国6000多家经销商绑定支付系统,达到财务对接,从而实现了真正意义上的资金流对接,实现全款购车,全款销量为2488辆,全款销售额2.23亿元。 
     
  3. 汽车金融的初试水。 天猫与易车网等平台在今年都推出汽车金融服务,通过汽车金融降低消费者在网上买车的门槛;同时通过电商与互联网金融结合,提高贷款手续效率。

虽然,今年的“双11”线上的虚假繁荣仍在继续,但在全款购车,汽车金融等方面有了新的突破与改进,不止于虚假繁荣。同时,通过一年的观察,对汽车电商的未来发展,我也有一些新的看法:

  1. 汽车销售的电商化为大势所趋。
    新华信最新研究结果显示:一方面,年轻人已经成为网购的消费主流,63%的网购人群集中在18岁至30岁;另一方面,年轻人正逐步成为汽车的主流消费群体,80、90后占新购车群体的比例由2010年的38%上升至2013年的52%。根据消费者调查,在愿意使用网络购车的人群中,80、90后占比66.1%。我们有理由相信,若干年后,线上购车会像现在的网络购物一样成为汽车销售的一个重要渠道。 
    从资本市场的数据来看,2014年大量资本涌入汽车电商领域:中国平安向车惠网投资数百万人民币,为消费者提供O2O网络购车模式;上汽集团投资数亿元搭建车享网开启“互联”模式;看车网获数百万美元投资。资金的大量涌入必定会推动汽车电商的蓬勃发展。
     
  2. 汽车电商不会颠覆现有经销商体系,但会促进经销商之间优胜劣汰。
    在未来的一段时期内,汽车销售服务模式仍将依托实体经销商,这是由汽车产品本身的独特性决定的。首先,虽然目前汽车销售可以在线上完成,但售后服务环节仍需线下支撑;其次,从电商的发展来看,打通汽车电商线上线下之后,需要优化再造现有线下服务流程,才能让用户真正体验到电子商务的实际效用和优势。但是,完成此流程优化仍需要实体经销商配合。

    对于经销商来说,是否积极拥抱电商将会成为影响经销商竞争力的一个重要因素。首先,汽车电商并不能创造更多的客户需求,但它能把更多的客户需求引导到拥抱电商的经销商那里,这将直接影响经销商的销售,进而影响其盈利能力;其次,汽车电商是直接连接到客户,通过对客户行为的大数据分析,能为精准营销、改善用户体验提供强大的支撑,能提升经销商的运营能力。因此,从这个层面来说,汽车电商会促进经销商之间的优胜劣汰。
     

  3. 多方的合作才能取得共赢。
    汽车电商想要成为未来中国汽车市场的重要销售渠道,还有几个难点需要解决:一是电商平台线上能提供较为丰富的产品供消费者来选择;二是能消除消费者的线上支付顾虑;三是能在较大的区域范围内,甚至能在全国范围内提供线下服务。唯有厂家、第三方平台、经销商、关联业务方等多方共同合作,才能完成此壮举,取得共赢。